Europe’s Most Prestigious Medical Awards: Jung Foundation for Science and Research Honours Excellent Researchers

 

Hamburg, 13 May 2022. Yesterday evening, the Jung Foundation for Science and Research honoured the work of four outstanding medical researchers and awarded them the Foundation’s prestigious medical prizes worth a total of 540,000 euros. Around 50 invited guests attended the award ceremony at the renowned Hamburg and Germania Rowing Club. After the in-person award ceremony had to be cancelled two years in a row due to the pandemic, the event took place as usual this year and numerous guests from science and research celebrated the laureates in a fitting manner.

Please download the press release here.

High resolution pictures can be downloaded here.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Combating Viral Diseases Such As SARS-CoV-2: Professor Dr Ralf Bartenschlager receives the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2022 for his research in molecular virology

 

Hamburg, 12 May 2022. Prof Dr rer. nat. Dr med. h. c. Ralf Bartenschlager, Head of the Department of Molecular Virology at Heidelberg University Hospital and of the Department of Virus-Associated Carcinogenesis at the German Cancer Research Center, is researching the biology of so-called RNA viruses. Notably, his work laid the foundations for curing damage incurred by chronic infections with the hepatitis C virus, such as liver cirrhosis and liver cancer. To honour this achievement, the Hamburg based Jung Foundation for Science and Research is awarding him the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2022. The annual prize is awarded with a total of 300,000 euros and goes to top researchers whose projects contribute to medical progress today and will continue to do so in the future.

Please download the press release here.

High resolution pictures can be downloaded here.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Preventing Secondary Complications of Diabetes: Professor Dr Ingrid Fleming receives the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2022 for her research into the molecular causes of vascular diseases in connection with diabetes as well as circulatory diseases

 

Hamburg, 12 May 2022. Diabetes and the resulting vascular diseases can lead to occlusion of leg vessels or even to heart attacks and blindness. Prof Dr Ingrid Fleming from the Center for Molecular Medicine at Goethe University, Frankfurt, is investigating how these diseases are related. She is now receiving the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2022 for her successful work and for transferring her results to potential medical applications. The award, which is endowed with a total of 300,000 euros, is presented each year by the Hamburg based Jung Foundation for Science and Research to top researchers whose projects contribute to medical progress and whose work promises pioneering findings in the future.

Please download the press release here.

High resolution pictures can be downloaded here.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Preventing Metastases in Cancer: Hamburg physician Dr Anastasios Giannou receives the Ernst Jung Career Advancement Award for Medical Research 2022 for his study of cancer-related metastasis formation

 

Hamburg, 12 May 2022. Why do cancer tumours form metastases in the body and how can these often-fatal developments be prevented? Researching the underlying mechanisms and transferring the findings into medical practice is the aim of Dr Anastasios Giannou, physician and postdoc at the Institute for General, Visceral and Thoracic Surgery and I. Medical Clinic of the University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf. To support his promising endeavours, the Hamburg based Jung Foundation for Science and Research is awarding him the Ernst Jung Career Advancement Award for Medical Research 2022. This is accompanied by financial support totalling 210,000 euros over the next three years.

Please download the press release here.

High resolution pictures can be downloaded here.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Understanding and treating genetic immunodeficiencies: Professor Dr. Alain Fischer receives the Ernst Jung Gold Medal for Medicine 2022 for his outstanding life’s work in human immunology

 

Hamburg, 12 May 2022. “A healthy immune system can distinguish pathogenic microbes from harmless ones. But in the case of genetic disorders, life is at risk – and this is where the therapy developed by me, and my team, comes in.” Professor Dr med. Alain Fischer from the University of Paris Descartes and Collège de France dedicated more than 40 years of his life to the field of clinical immunology and achieved significant progress with his scientific work: he deciphered the molecular etiology of numerous genetic disorders of the immune system and developed a corresponding gene therapy. The Hamburg Jung Foundation for Science and Research has already honored Alain Fischer for his outstanding research with the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine in 1998 and is now all the more pleased to award him the Ernst Jung Gold Medal for Medicine 2022 for his life’s work. This medal is awarded annually by the Jung Foundation to top researchers who have significantly advanced medical research and practice (or who are still actively doing so) and is a recognition of their life’s work to date.

Please download the press release here.

High resolution pictures can be downloaded here.

Zur Pressmitteilung

Jung Foundation for Science and Research Awards Medical Prizes for Excellent Human Medicine 2022 in Hamburg

 

Hamburg, 12 May 2022. The Jung Foundation for Science and Research is presenting its three awards for cutting-edge medicine today in Hamburg. This year, outstanding work in the fields of research into the molecular causes of vascular diseases, molecular virology, cancer-related metastasis and a lifetime’s work in the field of human immunology will be recognised. With a total of 540,000 euros, the Foundation’s prizes are among the highest endowed medical prizes in Europe. Tomorrow, 13 May 2022, the Jung Symposium of Medical Research will also take place for the second time, where the award winners will present their research results in a digital live stream.

Please download the press release here.

High resolution pictures can be downloaded here.

Zur Pressmitteilung

We welcome our first Jung Fellows

 

Our Jung Fellows have been selected! 5 promising doctoral students in human medicine will now receive a scholarship of 15,000 euros for a year dedicated to research. We warmly congratulate Amber Laureen Böhme, Maximilian Kolbe, Lena Sophie Niehoff, Judith Rössinger and Christine Linda Dowling on joining the Jung family and look forward to supporting them on their way with the excellent contacts of our foundation members and the knowledge of our award winners.

Zur Pressmitteilung

Ernst Jung Laureates continue to be successful

 

19 out of 33 winners of the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine see a direct or indirect connection between their prize from the Jung Foundation and their other subsequent awards. In this respect, the respondents mention a total of 54 awards, as well as a large number of appointments at universities and admissions to renowned medical academies. This is shown by a survey we conducted.

Zur Pressmitteilung

Supporting young talents with the german scholarships

 

In 2022, the Jung Foundation again awards German scholarships to three medical students at the University of Hamburg. The Deutschlandstipendium ensures a monthly financial allowance for three awarded students. The foundation is thus promoting young talents in the medical field for the fifth subsequent year.

Zur Pressmitteilung

Virtual Reality improves learning success at the UKE

 

The Jung Foundation has financed a study on the use and establishment of VR technologies for cardiopulmonary resuscitation in medical studies at the Hamburg Medical Faculty. It has now successfully been completed.

Zur Pressmitteilung

Jung-Stiftung begrüßt Frau Prof. Dr. Schwappach-Pignataro als neues Vorstands- und Kuratoriumsmitglied

 

Hamburg, 08. Juni 2022. Die Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung begrüßt Frau Prof. Dr. Blanche Schwappach-Pignataro als neues Mitglied des Vorstands sowie Kuratoriums. Sie tritt damit die Nachfolge von Prof. Hans-Ulrich Moritz an, der sich nach jahrelanger Zusammenarbeit und Unterstützung aus dem Vorstand und Kuratorium der Jung-Stiftung zurückzieht. Frau Schwappach-Pignataro wird wie ihr Vorgänger den Austausch zwischen Vorstand und Kuratorium fördern und koordinieren und gehört daher beiden Gremien der Stiftung an.

Hier finden Sie die Pressemitteilung zum Download.

Das entsprechende Bildmaterial finden Sie hier zum Download.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Höchstdotierte Medizinpreise Europas: Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung zeichnete exzellente Forscher_innen aus

 

Hamburg, 13. Mai 2022. Am gestrigen Abend würdigte die Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung die Arbeit von vier hervorragenden medizinischen Forscher_innen und verlieh ihnen die mit insgesamt 540.000 Euro dotierten Medizin-Preise der Stiftung. Rund 50 geladene Gäste fanden sich anlässlich der stimmungsvollen Preisverleihungsfeier in den Räumlichkeiten des renommierten Hamburger und Germania Ruder Clubs ein. Nachdem die persönliche Preisverleihungszeremonie in den beiden Vorjahren Pandemie-bedingt ausfallen musste, konnte die feierliche Ehrung in diesem Jahr wie gewohnt stattfinden und die zahlreichen Gäste aus Wissenschaft und Forschung die Laureat_innen gebührend feiern.

Hier finden Sie die Pressemitteilung zum Download.

Das entsprechende Bildmaterial finden Sie hier zum Download.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Viruserkrankungen wie SARS-CoV-2 den Kampf ansagen: Professor Dr. Ralf Bartenschlager erhält den Ernst Jung-Preis für Medizin 2022 für seine Forschungsarbeiten in der molekularen Virologie

 

Hamburg, 12. Mai 2022. Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. med. h. c. Ralf Bartenschlager, Leiter der Abteilung Molekulare Virologie am Uniklinikum Heidelberg und der Abteilung Virus-Assoziierte Karzinogenese am Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum, erforscht die Biologie sogenannter RNA-Viren. Mit seinen Arbeiten schaffte er beispielsweise die Grundlage für die Heilung von Schädigungen nach chronischer Infektion mit dem Hepatitis-C-Virus, wie Leberzirrhose und Leberkrebs. Hierfür zeichnet ihn die Hamburger Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung mit dem Ernst Jung-Preis für Medizin 2022 aus. Die mit insgesamt 300.000 Euro dotierte Auszeichnung geht jedes Jahr an Spitzenforscher_innen, deren Projekte heute und auch künftig zum medizinischen Fortschritt beitragen.

Hier finden Sie die Pressemitteilung zum Download.

Das entsprechende Bildmaterial finden Sie hier zum Download.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Folgeerkrankungen von Diabetes verhindern: Professor Dr. Ingrid Fleming erhält den Ernst Jung-Preis für Medizin 2022 für ihre Erforschung der molekularen Ursachen von Gefäßerkrankungen im Zusammenhang mit Diabetes sowie Kreislauferkrankungen

 

Hamburg, 12. Mai 2022. Diabetes und daraus resultierende Gefäßerkrankungen können zu Verschlüssen der Beingefäße oder gar zu Herzinfarkten und Erblindung führen. Wie diese Erkrankungen zusammenhängen, erforscht Prof. Dr. Ingrid Fleming vom Zentrum für Molekulare Medizin an der Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt. Für ihre erfolgreiche Arbeit sowie die Übertragung ihrer Ergebnisse in mögliche medizinische Anwendungen erhält sie nun den Ernst Jung-Preis für Medizin 2022. Die mit insgesamt 300.000 Euro dotierte Auszeichnung der Hamburger Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung geht jedes Jahr an Spitzenforscher_innen, deren Projekte zum medizinischen Fortschritt beitragen und deren Schaffen auch künftig bahnbrechende Erkenntnisse verspricht.

Hier finden Sie die Pressemitteilung zum Download.

Das entsprechende Bildmaterial finden Sie hier zum Download.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Metastasenbildung bei Krebserkrankungen verhindern: Hamburger Arzt Dr. Anastasios Giannou erhält den Ernst Jung-Karriere-Förderpreis für medizinische Forschung 2022 für seine Untersuchung der krebsbedingten Metastasenbildung

 

Hamburg, 12. Mai 2022. Warum bilden Krebstumore Metastasen im Körper und wie lässt sich diese oft tödliche Entwicklung verhindern? Die zugrundeliegenden Mechanismen zu erforschen und die Ergebnisse in die medizinische Praxis zu übertragen ist das Ziel von Dr. Anastasios Giannou, Arzt und Postdoc am Institut für Allgemein-, Viszeral- und Thoraxchirurgie und I. Medizinische Klinik des Universitätsklinikums Hamburg-Eppendorf. Um seine vielversprechenden Ansätze zu unterstützen, verleiht ihm die Hamburger Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung den Ernst Jung-Karriere-Förderpreis für medizinische Forschung 2022. Damit verbunden ist eine finanzielle Förderung in Höhe von insgesamt 210.000 Euro über die kommenden drei Jahre.

Hier finden Sie die Pressemitteilung zum Download.

Das entsprechende Bildmaterial finden Sie hier zum Download.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Angeborene Immundefekte verstehen und behandeln: Professor Dr. Alain Fischer erhält die Ernst Jung-Medaille für Medizin in Gold 2022 für sein wissenschaftliches Lebenswerk in der Humanimmunologie

 

Hamburg, 12. Mai 2022. „Ein gesundes Immunsystem kann krankheitserregende Mikroben von unschädlichen unterscheiden, bei genetisch bedingten Störungen droht Lebensgefahr – und hier setzt die von mir und meinem Team entwickelte Therapie an“. Mehr als 40 Jahre seines Lebens widmete Prof. Dr. med. Alain Fischer von der Universität Paris Descartes und dem Collège de France dem Feld der klinischen Immunologie und erzielte mit seinen wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten bedeutende Fortschritte auf diesem Gebiet: Er entschlüsselte die Entstehungsweise unterschiedlicher angeborener Immundefekte und entwickelte eine entsprechende Gentherapie. Bereits 1998 hatte die Hamburger Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung ihn für seine herausragende Forschung mit dem Ernst-Jung-Preis für Medizin honoriert und freut sich umso mehr, Alain Fischer nun für sein Lebenswerk mit der Ernst Jung-Medaille für Medizin in Gold 2022 auszeichnen zu dürfen. Diese wird jedes Jahr von der Jung-Stiftung an Spitzenforscher_innen vergeben, die die medizinische Forschung und Praxis erheblich vorangebracht haben oder dies auch noch aktiv leisten und ist eine Anerkennung des bisherigen Lebenswerks.

Hier finden Sie die Pressemitteilung zum Download.

Das entsprechende Bildmaterial finden Sie hier zum Download.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung verleiht Medizinpreise für ausgezeichnete Humanmedizin 2022 in Hamburg

 

Hamburg, 12. Mai 2022. Die Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung verleiht heute in Hamburg ihre drei Auszeichnungen für Spitzenmedizin. In diesem Jahr werden herausragende Arbeiten auf den Gebieten der Erforschung der molekularen Ursachen von Gefäßerkrankungen, der molekularen Virologie, der krebsbedingten Metastasenbildung sowie ein Lebenswerk im Bereich der Humanimmunologie gewürdigt. Mit insgesamt 540.000 Euro zählen die Preise der Stiftung zu den höchstdotierten Medizinpreisen Europas. Morgen, am 13. Mai 2022 findet zudem zum zweiten Mal das Jung-Symposium der medizinischen Forschung statt, bei der die Preisträger_innen ihre Forschungsergebnisse im digitalen Live-Stream präsentieren.

Hier finden Sie die Pressemitteilung zum Download.

Das entsprechende Bildmaterial finden Sie hier zum Download.

 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Mit den Deutschlandstipendien Nachwuchstalente gefördert

 

Auch im Jahr 2022 vergibt die Jung-Stiftung zum fünften Mal in Folge Deutschlandstipendien an drei Medizinstudierende der Universität Hamburg und fördert somit Nachwuchstalente im medizinischen Bereich. Der Erhalt des Deutschlandstipendiums sichert ihnen eine monatliche finanzielle Zuwendung.

Zur Pressmitteilung

Virtual Reality verbessert Lernerfolg am UKE

 

Die von der Jung-Stiftung finanzierte Studie zur Nutzung und Etablierung von VR-Technologien für die cardiopulmonale Reanimation im Medizinstudium an der medizinischen Fakultät Hamburg konnte erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden.

Zur Pressmitteilung

„Ausgezeichnete Medizin“ – Jung-Stiftung für Wissenschaft und Forschung vergibt Medizinpreise in Hamburg

Erstmals zwei Frauen ausgezeichnet – Stiftung vor 50 Jahren gegründet Zur Pressmitteilung