Find out more about the life and work of the prize winners and medallists in the informative video portraits.

“Excellence is a choice.” This is the motto of Prof. Emmanuelle Charpentier’s life, which she also and especially follows in her scientific work. For this excellent research, she has now been awarded the Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2020. In 2013, the researcher developed the CRISPR-Cas9 system along with her US colleague Jennifer Doudna. This system enables the targeted switching off or correction of defective genes. Its numerous application possibilities make it so special.

Zur Pressmitteilung

We are pleased to welcome Professor Dr. Dominique Soldati-Favre to our Board of Trustees with immediate effect. She has headed the Institute of Microbiology and Molecular Medicine at the University of Geneva since 2020, after previously working at the same university from 2011 to 2019 as Vice Dean for Research and Careers. Her current research projects are about decoding the molecular mechanisms that ensure the gliding motility and invasion of the host cell by the Toxoplasma and Plasmodium and parasite metabolism governing chronic infection.

Zur Pressmitteilung

Our Board of Trustees Chair Professor Christian Büchel has been awarded the Advanced Grant of the European Research Council (ERC) for the second time. Prof. Büchel is director of the Institute for Systemic Neurosciences at the UKE (University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf) and is exploring how acute pain develops into chronic suffering with his “PainPersist” research project. Over the next five years, the project will receive a total of 2.5 million euros under the EU’s “Horizon 2020” funding programme. 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Professor Tobias Moser, Ernst Jung awardee 2017, and his research team succeeded in combining gene therapy in the cochlear with light stimulation from a multichannel optical cochlear implant for the first time. This could result in a fundamental improvement in hearing with an optical cochlear implant in the future, as light can be better narrowed down spatially compared to electricity, thus enabling a more precise stimulation of the auditory nerve. 

Zur Pressmitteilung

Professor Dr. Gary R. Lewin is awarded the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2019

Professor Dr. Brenda A. Schulman is awarded the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2019

Professor Pietro De Camilli, M.D. is awarded the Ernst Jung Gold Medal for Medicine 2019

Doctor med. Sebastian Zundler is awarded the Ernst Jung Career Advancement Award 2019