Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is made up of four people: The positions are on a voluntary basis.

Jochen Spethmann

Jochen Spethmann began his career as a Wholesale and Export Clerk in Hamburg. After spending many years in Great Britain and the USA, he returned to Germany in 1985 and joined the Laurens Spethmann Holding (LSH) as shareholder in 1992, occupying the chairmanship of the Board from 1999 to 2017. In 2018 he switched to the Supervisory Board of the family-run company active all across Europe, which, for example, distributes the brands Meßmer and Milford via its subsidiary OTG. Furthermore, Jochen Spethmann is Chairman of the German Tea Association. He has been Deputy Chairman of the Executive Board in the Versammlung eines ehrbaren Kaufmanns zu Hamburg e.V. (historic merchants' organisation) since 2017. In 2005 he joined the Board of the Jung Foundation and took over the chairmanship in October 2018.

Dr. Christian Flach

Dr. Christian Flach, born in 1968, is a legal practitioner and also works in the energy industry, as founder Ernst Jung once did. Over the course of 25 years, he held several management positions both in Germany and abroad for the Hamburg-based company Marquard & Bahls. He has taken over the position of Chairman of the Executive Board for the past eight years. Today, Marquard & Bahls is one of the leading independent companies in the fields of energy supply, trade and logistics. Dr. Christian Flach is Deputy Chairman of the Management Board of the Jung Foundation for Science and Research.

Petra Scharner-Wolff

Petra Scharner-Wolff (MBA) has been responsible for the areas of finances, controlling and personnel in the Group Management Board of the Otto Group in Hamburg since 2015. She was born in Göttingen and also studied there. She moved to the Hanseatic city in 1999, where she headed the worldwide controlling of the Otto Group for several years as Director. Later she was the Management Board Spokesperson for the Schwab Group in Hanau, before returning to the city on the banks of the Elbe to take over the position of OTTO Divisional Director. Petra Scharner-Wolff has been a member of the Jung Foundation Board since October 2018.

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Hans-Ulrich Moritz

Professor Dr. rer. nat. Hans-Ulrich Moritz holds a chair at the Institute of Technical and Macromolecular Chemistry at the University of Hamburg. Born in Berlin in 1952, Professor Moritz is not only a chemist, but also holds a degree in business administration. Professor Moritz supports the exchange of information between the Board of Trustees and Scientific Advisory Board as representative of a non-medical discipline. He is thus a member of both committees.

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board is made up of medical scientists in Germany and abroad. It is a long-standing tradition that it also consists of former awardees at all times.

Prof. Dr. med. Christian Büchel

Professor Dr. med. Christian Büchel is chairman of the Jung Foundation. He is Director of the Institute for Systemic Neurosciences at the University Hospital of Hamburg-Eppendorf. His research activities deal with the functions of the human brain, especially with learning and memory in connection with emotions. Professor Büchel was awarded with the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine in 2011.

Prof. Dr. med. Roland Martin

Professor Dr. med. Roland Martin works at the Clinic for Neurology at the University Hospital Zurich, where he is head of neuroimmunology and multiple sclerosis research. His work in restoring the immune system tolerance of multiple sclerosis patients sets new standards in personalised treatment.

Prof. Dr. med Thomas Boehm

Prof. Dr. med. Thomas Boehm is Director of the Immune System Development Department at the Max Planck Institute of Immunobiology and Epigenetics in Freiburg. The focus of his research includes the evolution of the immune system and the genetic causes of congenital immunodeficiency in humans. He was the Ernst Jung laureate in 2014.

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Hans-Ulrich Moritz

Professor Dr. rer. nat. Hans-Ulrich Moritz works at the Institute of Technical and Macromolecular Chemistry at the University of Hamburg and organises the exchange of information between the Board of Trustees and the Scientific Advisory Board, making him a member of both committees. His special attention to promoting the quality of science is a major aspect of his professional work as well as his voluntary position with the Foundation.


Verena Strasoldo

Verena Strasoldo is a fully qualified lawyer. After studying in Munich, she completed her legal clerkship in Berlin and then later in New York. After holding further professional positions in Mexico and Madrid, she returned to Germany in 1998. In Hamburg she was in charge of management at the Hermann & Else Schnabel Foundation as well as at the Deutsch-Tschechische Gesellschaft Hamburg e.V. (DTG, the German-Czech Society), to then switch in 2017 to the management of the Jung Foundation for Science and Research.


Elbchaussee 215
22605 Hamburg
Telefon: 0049 40 880 80 51
Telefax: 0049 40 880 10 71