Award-winning Medicine

The Jung Foundation for Science and Research is committed to human medical science. It honours basic research in human medicine and especially the further research of clinical importance with three prizes awarded annually. The aim is to promote the development of new treatment options. The Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine, the Ernst Jung Gold Medal for Medicine and the Ernst Jung Career Advancement Award for Medical Research rank among the highest awards of their category throughout Europe with a total sum of €540,000.

Throughout their careers, the winners of the Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine have received other important awards as well. Three of them have even been awarded a Nobel Prize: Prof. Dr. Rolf Martin Zinkernagel in 1996, Prof. Dr. Harald zur Hausen in 2008 and Prof. Emmanuelle Charpentier in 2020.

Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine

Ernst Jung Gold Medal for Medicine


Jung Symposium 2021

the foundation